Reset To Factory Default Settings
If you messed up with the configuration on your MikroTik routers or RouterOS devices, which you cannot login to the router to manage it any more, you can reset the router to its factory default settings to gain back the access. The administrator account can also be reset with this way.
Please be informed that you will lose all the configuration and any other data on the router after you reset it, please proceed with caution.
Most MikroTik devices are fitted with a reset button. Look for the reset button labeled with “RES” on your MikroTik router.
- Turn off the device power.
- Hold the reset button and do not release.
- Turn on the device power and wait until the USER LED labeled with “ACT” starts flashing.
- Now release the button to clear configuration.
- Wait for a few minutes for the router to clear and restore the factory settings.
If you release the reset button after the LED stops flashing, you have to redo everything again.
Other than the reset button, you can also reset the device with jumper hole. Almost all MikroTik models are fitted with a reset jumper hole. Some might need opening of enclosure, RB750/RB951/RB751 have the jumper hole under one of the rubber feet of the enclosure.
Close the jumper with a metal screwdriver, and boot the board until the configuration is cleared.